Pollokshields Heritage Heritage Trail Two 
John Campbell McKellar (1859-1941)

John Campbell McKellarResponsible for Oaklands, Redhills and the billiards room at The Knowe.

John Campbell McKellar was one of Glasgow’s foremost tenement architects. Educated at Queen’s Park Collegiate School he began his career in 1875 as apprentice to James Milne Monro. In 1881 he spent a year with Frank Burnet to gain experience in the building of tenement housing. He established his own practice in 1883 and the following year took on house factoring and property management. He then formed a limited liability company called John C McKellar Ltd with capital of £40,000, increasing to £100,000 by 1899. From around 1888 onwards he began to build tenements in Crossmyloof, Kelvinside and Maryhill before selling his properties in Crossmyloof in 1901 to finance the building of higher quality developments in Kelvinside, Hyndland and Partick. In all his company designed around 640 tenements between 1890 and 1910 after which his business was badly affected by Lloyd George’s People’s Budget which put an incremental tax on property speculation. John Campbell McKellar died aged 81 on the 27th March 1941 at Ardery, Kilcreggan.