Pollokshields Heritage Heritage Trail Two 
38 Glasgow Carpet Beating Works "B" listed

Diminutive but charming red ashlar French Renaissance building of c1895 with large iron crested pyramidal slate roof that stylishly turns the corner with an oriel bay. Central pavilion framed by low wings with arcades of semi-circular windows. Founded by Thomas Donald in 1893 in Port Dundas, the company relocated to Pollokshields to provide services for some sixty years. After a spell as an upholsterers’ warehouse, it was bought and upgraded by Hugh Fulton Electrical Limited in 1987.